Lesbian Roles Be Damned

I know role-playing can be fun with the right woman on the right day. At least, that’s what I’ve been told. My problem is that I struggle with first impressions and defy typical roles myself. I look like the “girl next door,” or so I’ve been told. I’m okay with that until it gets in my way, pushing me in a corner by myself, unmatched and unloved.

Like most people, I would prefer a more interesting description. If people described me as sexy or edgy, I would definitely smile about that. Depending on what I wear and who I am with, those descriptions can be true. I have references. My personality is definitely more edgy than my looks. I have no tattoos, piercings or other markings that distinguish me from other people. Too often I am approached by total strangers who tell me I look like their sister, cousin, old classmate. I’m not sure what that means exactly, but it is weird.

While I never have trouble getting dates, I must admit to feeling some angst over the entire process. I actually went to a little party last weekend and only stayed an hour. I felt nervous and very quiet. I do much better one on one, unless I’m drinking. After a few drinks, I am much more talkative. But then I have to stress over getting UBER to pick me up and leaving my car. That is way too complicated. Besides, I want to meet people as myself, not the “buzzed” version of me that is much more dynamic, but much less genuine. That’s a subject for another post.

I guess the whole butch/femme thing, which is supposedly yesteryear, seems all too prevalent to me. I am not attracted to extremes. Super prissy or masculine women do nothing for me. I’m not trying to step on toes. I guess my reason for writing about this subject is because I rarely meet women who seem down to earth and middle of the road. Maybe I am looking in the wrong places.

With that said, I have hope and continue to put myself out there. At some point, I will jump on a dating site, reluctantly….The Girl Next Door seeks The Girl Next Door. Any takers? I know. I need to work on that some.

Carpe your fears for they will set you free! (or so I hear)

Wordy Grl

3 thoughts on “Lesbian Roles Be Damned

  1. Just wanted to interject that Butch/Femme is not about either “Super prissy or masculine women” and it’s not “role-playing” either. And we are just as down-to-earth as anyone else. Please know I am not trying to be argumentative in saying this, but those are things that are often incorrectly assumed about B/F, so I always address those misconceptions. Most lesbians aren’t either Butch or Femme ~ and a person cannot just decide to be either one ~ B/F is not something we are playacting; it is who we actually are. It’s fine to be Butch, it’s fine to be Femme, and it’s fine to be any other sort of lesbian too. I hope eventually we can get to the point where lesbians won’t criticize and misjudge each other within the lesbian community and just accept each others’ uniqueness. Thanks for listening and best wishes. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I have no problem with people who are gay or lesbian. They love like straight people do: With their hearts. So aside from their sexual orientation, are they really different from the rest of us?

    Like

Leave a Reply

